Winners September 17, 2011

Josh Grady Wins The NMMRA Feature And Bo Baker Is the 2011 Champion

By Lynn Hensley on September 18, 2011, 12:35 am

The NMMRA non wing sprints closed out their season with a 25 lap feature at Aztec Speedway. Twenty five cars took the green with Farmington’s Josh Grady taking the lead from the pole. Jason Grady chased his bother for seven laps till a yellow came out for Bo Baker. Baker lost his front brakes and was done for the night. Baker only had to start the main to win the 2011 Championship. On the restart, Jason Tanner moved into 2nd with Jon Taylor and Jordan Mattson close behind. The red flag was thrown on lap 10 as James Hatch rolled his #41 Dave Burn’s owned car. He was ok and racing continued with Jason Tanner in the lead and Josh Grady seemingly fading. Josh turned up the heat and caught up and passed Tanner with a great slide job going in to turn three. Tanner repassed on the bottom out of turn four. They would do this two more times. Finally, on the last lap Grady passed Tanner on the high side in three and four for his first win at Aztec. Tanner held 2nd and Jason Mattson came up for 3rd. In fourth was Jon Taylor and Scott Box was fifth and Box also took 2nd in the points race. Rounding out the top ten were, Brett Ream, Jason Grady, Bill Mitchell, Cody Mansfield and Kristy Smith. Jordan Mattson had fast time of 14.303 sec. for an average speed of 83.059 mph for one lap.

The IMCA modifieds ran a 20 lap feature with only 11 cars taking the green. Porter Smith ran off with the race having almost a half lap lead at one time. A few cautions slowed the race, but each restart saw Smith jump way out to a comfortable lead. Following Smith to the line was Kevin Brown in 2nd with JJ Harpole 3rd and Regan Tafoya 4th followed by Danny Bradford. The track was fast tonight as Regan Tafoya turned in a lap of 15.327 sec. The rest of the finishing order was, Mark Rodgers, Jason Keeler, Eddie Farley, Robert Reed, Bob Harter, and Bill Dowdy.

In the IMCA stock car feature, Michael Farley lead 19 cars to the checkers. Only one car managed to get beside Farley as Mike was in front all the way. Lee Moss challenged but settled for 2nd. Frankie Hendershot moved up through the field to take 3rd with Danny Stevenson 4th and Rex Higgins 5th. The rest of the top ten were, Larry Bradley, Steffan Carey, Kenny Hendershot, Samuel Sansoni, and Arlen Cochran.

The IMCA southern sport modified feature produced a first time winner at Aztec. Ryan Henley started on the front row beside his dad, RL Henley and when the green fell he put the #9 in front and kept it there. Ryan had a huge lead until a late yellow tightened the field. With four laps to go, Henley held off Brian Carey and Randy Eitel for the win. In fourth was Wayne Soares and fifth went to Julie Boettler. The rest of the top ten were, Ace Eavenson, Shane Simonton, RL Henley, Kristi Tenski, and Marshal Moody.

The hobby stock feature saw a short field take the green and put on a superb race. Tommy Valdez, Randy Dorsett, Dennis Spencer and Amador Milliano put on a close race for 15 laps. A few others were not too far back as Randy Dorsett finally put his lucky #13 in front. Dennis Spencer gave it his all but came up short by about 4 feet. In 3rd was Milliano, with Jeremy Bradley 4th and Darrell Cordary 5th. Valdez took 6th and Howard Asbe and his grandson, Jessie Asbe were 7th and 8th. (on a side note: Spencer ran with the stock cars last week and finished 7th in his hobby.) Could be time to move up.

The mini stocks were down to 3 cars with Jim Griffin winning over Amanda Tenski and Brandi Morrow.

Only two more weekends of racing are on tap at Aztec Speedway this season. Next week, a regular program will run followed on Oct. 1st by a no points weekend. USRA modifieds are invited to join us along with other classes.


NMMRA Sprint cars:

1st: Josh Grady
2nd: Jason Tanner
3rd: Jordan Mattson
4th: Jon Taylor
5th: Butch Box

IMCA Modifieds:

1st: Porter Smith
2nd: Kevin Brown
3rd: JJ Harpole
4th: Regan Tafoya
5th: Danny Bradford

IMCA Sport Modifieds:

1st: Ryan Henley
2nd: Brian Carey
3rd: Randy Eitel
4th: Wayne Soares
5th: Julie Boettler

IMCA Stock Cars:

1st: Michael Farley
2nd: Lee Moss
3rd: Frankie Hendershot
4th: Danny Stevenson
5th: Rex Higgins

Hobby Stocks:

1st: Randy Dorsett
2nd: Dennis Spencer
3rd: Amador Milliano
4th: Jeremy Bradley
5th: Darrell Cordary

Mini Stocks:

1st: Jim Griffin
2nd: Amanda Tenski
3rd: Brandi Morrow

Winners Photos, September 17, 2011

Race Photos, September 17, 2011

Comments are closed.