Winners May 26, 2012

Jeff Jennings Wins Night One of The 5th Annual Ryan Bard Memorial

By Lynn Hensley


Twenty eight Southern Sport Modifieds signed up for the running of the 5th Annual Ryan Bard Memorial. Only 20 cars would race their way into the feature by way of a top 3 heat race finish or a top 6 finish in one of two B-mains. The green dropped on this field after they made one pace lap with the missing man (pole sitter) formation to honor the memory of Ryan Bard.

Dakota Kibel took the lead from the front row and held it until lap 7 when Jeff Jennings made a strong move on the high side and took the front spot in a #3 sport modified owned by the Harpole family. Jennings held that spot all the way to the checkers in a caution free 25 lap feature. Kibel held on for 2nd with Randy Eitel 3rd. In fourth was Kristi Tenski and fifth went to Joey Klemish. Great driving by all drivers in this one. The rest of the finishing order was: Jordan Eddleman, Ryan Henley, Brian Carey, Brandon Tenski, Julie Boettler, Billy Currier, RL Henley, Ace Eavenson, Matt Ruf, Robert Gallegos, John Currier, George Goshorn, David Lewis, and Tony Hill. Nineteen cars finished the race. The B-mains were won by Ace Eavenson and Ryan Henley.

The IMCA modified feature was the race of the night with only 15 cars taking the green. Wayne Soares lead a few laps with his nicely wrapped Hawaii 50 car. Mark Rodgers moved into the lead with his #07 Shark car and looked as though nobody could catch him if the green flag stayed out. The green did stay out but a certain Pink Panther #18, with Zane Devilbiss behind the wheel, kept sneaking up each lap. Devilbiss chased Rodgers for 12 laps finally catching and passing him coming out of turn 4 on the last lap. Finishing behind Devilbiss and Rodgers were JJ Harpole, Regan Tafoya and Tyrone Yazzie (in Jason Keeler’s car #73). These three cars raced hard for 25 laps swapping positions a couple of time. Great racing and another caution free 25 lapper. The rest of the finishing order was: Zach Hamilton, Kevin Faddis, Allen Bradley, Charlie Felker, Matt Ratzlaff, Wayne Soares, Matt Higgins, Andy Goodenough,David Davis, and Michael Higgins.

The IMCA Stock Car feature had a few cautions with one car suffering heavy sheet metal damage but continuing for a top 10 finish. Michael Farley took the early lead for a few laps until Frankie Hendershot zipped on by on lap 3. But on lap 9 Frankie’s car had a wheel lock up and put him out of the race. Danny Stevenson then took the lead and the win. A few challenged Stevenson in this 25 lapper but couldn’t take the lead away. Rex Higgins was the car with heavy damage as he crashed with Shane Devilbiss #43 and Luke Rowe #55. Higgins made two charges toward the front but both times ran into some bad luck. Finishing behind the winner was Kenny Hendershot and Richard Trujillo in 3rd. Fourth was Steffan Carey and fifth, Porter Smith, driving Lee Moss’s #88. The rest of the finishing order was: Larry Bradley, Race Fisher, Ed Brown, Rex Higgins, Luke Rowe, Jeramey Bradley, Ray Hollingsworth, Jay Kibel, Michael Farley, Frankie Hendershot, Ron Merritt, Shane Devilbiss, and Traci Jennings.

The New Mexico Mini Sprints brought 11 cars up and raced with their wings on tonight. They will take them off tomorrow night. Devon Amos in his #25 showed them the fast way around Aztec Speedway as he lead all the way for the win. Mike Brewer closed up on the leader but had to settle for 2nd. In 3rd was Kenny Brewer with fourth going to Jacob Johnston and fifth was Caleb Saiz. The rest of the field finished like this: Spencer Hill, Don Kruse, Pat Hurtado, Jody Cornell, Bradley Huish, and Kerry Sanders.

The extremely high winds settled somewhat around 8pm. And then the temperature dropped into the 40s to make for a cold night. Thanks to all the race fans for hanging in there for the first night of the 5th Annual Ryan Bard Memorial. The wind prediction for tomorrow is minor compared to today. So make your plans to come out to Aztec Speedway for the 2nd night of racing this memorial weekend. Gates open at 4pm…racing begins at 7pm.

Winners May, 26 2012

IMCA sport modifieds….top five in order:

Jeff Jennings
Dakota Kibel
Randy Eitel
Kristi Tenski
Joey Klemish

IMCA modifieds…………top five in order:

Zane Devilbiss
Mark Rodgers
JJ Harpole
Regan Tafoya
Tyrone Yazzie

IMCA stock cars…………top five in order:

Danny Stevenson
Kenny Hendershot
Rrichard Trujillo
Steffan Carey
Porter Smith

New Mexico Mini five in order:

Devon Amos
Mike Brewer
Kenny Brewer
Jacob Johnston
Caleb Saiz

More Racing Photos:

Comments are closed.