Winners June 4, 2011

IMCA Modifieds

1st: Porter Smith
2nd: Garrett Higgins
3rd: Aaron Spangler
4th: Regan Tafoya
5th: Zane Devilbiss

IMCA Sport Modifieds

1st: Julie Boettler
2nd: Zach Hamilton
3rd: Tre Harpole
4th: Shane Simonton
5th: Zach Rouse

IMCA Stock Cars

1st: Frankie Hendershot
2nd: Larry Bradley
3rd: Lee Moss
4th: Traci Jennings
5th: Steffan Carey

Hobby Stocks

1st: Randy Dorsett
2nd: Howard Asbe
3rd: Jeremy Bradley
4th: Darrell Cordary
5th: Paul Dorsett

Mini Stocks

1st:Ross Whipple
2nd: Amanda Hamilton
3rd: Breezy Hopper

June 4, Porter Smith wins at Aztec Speedway in a thriller!

Twenty IMCA modifieds lined up for 25 laps of some of the wildest racing, for the lead, at Aztec Speedway. Porter Smith, Mark Rodgers, Garrett Higgins, and Zane Devilbliss swapped the lead about six times in the first 7 laps. And that doesn’t count the times the lead changed in turn one and again in turn two and again out of turn four. And they did this over and over. One of those races that keeps fans on the edge or standing up. After 15 laps, Regan Tafoya and Aaron Spangler came up to run side by side with these leaders. In the end the race narrowed down to Porter Smith getting by Garrett Higgins and taking another feature win in 2011. Higgins did hold on for 2nd but had his hands full with 3rd place Aaron Spangler followed by Regan Tafoya and Zane Devilbiss. It appeared that Devilbiss caught a rut in turn two about lap 9. He fell way back before he found the line again and moved back into the top five. Mark Rodgers ended up 6th after racing up front with the others. In 7th was Danny Bradford, 8th was Robert Reed with Jeremy Farley 9th and Jason Keeler rounded out the top ten. You might want to catch the “in-car” camera view from Porter Smith. He’ll post it on YouTube and Facebook.

In the IMCA sport modifieds, Julie Boettler took the lead early in the 25 lap feature and held on for the win over Zach Hamilton. Hamilton found the fast line around the track with about 6 laps to go. He closed to make it interesting on the last lap but had to settle for 2nd. Julie also was credited with the win in last Sunday night’s feature after the winner on track was DQd for too much vacuum. So that makes it two in a row for Boettler. Finishing in 3rd was Tre Harpole after leading several laps. In fourth…Shane Simonton and fifth Zach Rouse. Finishing out the top ten: Kristi Cochran, Jordan Eddleman, Ace Eavenson, Brandon Tenski and Brian Carey.

The IMCA stock cars fielded only 16 cars tonight but as usual, they put on a tremendously close race. Running three and four wide and bumper to bumper is so common with these guys and gal, that we are all expecting it. Didn’t let us down tonight as the racing was very fast and like I said earlier very close. Things started out a little rocky as Travis Southerlin lost a wheel in turn one on lap one. Rex Higgins was caught up in this and both cars were eliminated from the race. On a restart of the race Darin James led for several laps after passing Michael Farley. With four wide racing on the front stretch, Farley was squeezed a little too much and sustained enough damage to put him out of contention. Traci Jennings and Larry Bradley raced with James for the lead for several laps with Bradley finally taking over. Frankie Hendershot methodically moved his car toward the front. When it looked as though Larry Bradley was going to take his first win this year, Hendershot passed him coming out of turn four on the final lap for the win. Bradley tried to come back on the front stretch but ended up 2nd by half a car length. Third spot went to Lee Moss and fourth to Traci Jennings and fifth was Steffan Carey. Sixth through tenth were: Danny Stevenson, Tony Hill, Darin James, Michael Higgins, Luke Rowe, and Arlen Cochran.

The hobby stocks were putting on a good show with Dennis Spencer and Darrell Cordary racing side by side for the lead and Randy Dorsett was on their bumpers. But, Spencer and Cordary slammed together out of turn four and both ended up with flats. With a yellow out, those two came back to start in the rear but they could never catch back up to the leader. Randy Dorsett went on to win in his #13 with Howard Asbe in 2nd and Jeremy Bradley 3rd. Cordary did get back to fourth and Paul Dorsett was fifth.

The mini stocks lost some cars last weekend to heavy damage. Only three minis made it out this evening with Ross Whipple taking a win. Amanda Hamilton was next and Breezy Hopper was 3rd.

Comments are closed.