Winners June 23, 2012

The Hendershot Brothers Ruled The Dirt at Aztec

by Lynn Hensley

The IMCA stock car 25 lap feature fielded only 12 cars Saturday night. But nobody really noticed the low car count as at least eight of these cars were in contention for most of the race. Frankie Hendershot took his #5h out of the second row and into the lead on lap 1. Rex Higgins, Richard Trujillo, Traci Jennings, Steffan Carey and Kenny Hendershot were all dicing for the 2nd and 3 spots in some very close racing. Frankie stayed in front while side by side racing was going on behind him. Finally on lap 17, Kenny Hendershot took the lead away from his brother. Rex Higgins was relegated to 3rd at that time with Richard Trujillo constantly trying to pass him. Trujillo eventually did finish in the fourth spot with Traci Jennings taking 5th. Kenny finished 0.406 seconds in front of Frankie for the win. Both Hendershots celebrated in victory lane. The rest of the finishing order was: Steffan Carey, Travis Southerlin, Luke Rowe, Shane Devilbiss, Danny Stevenson (spun out of 4th on the last lap), Larry Bradley DNF, Jeramey Bradley DNF and Gerald Wright DNS.

The IMCA modifieds had 17 cars for the 25 lap feature. Bob Harter put his #75 in front for 3 laps until Zach “Zookie” Hamilton moved his #14 XL Concrete special to the front. Mark Rodgers and Allen Bradley were close behind until more than half the field piled up coming out of turn 4 on lap six. The red flag stopped racing as it took about 30 minutes to clear the track. Andy Goodenough #12, Michael Higgins #27h, Aaron Spangler #16 and Julian Garcia Jr. #21 sustained too much damage to continue. After the restart, Danny Bradford moved to the high side and into the lead with his Quadco #111. From that point on everybody else was racing for 2nd as Bradford put it on “cruise control” to take the win. Hamilton held off Rodgers for 2nd with Rodgers #07 taking a 3rd to go with his 3 wins this year. In fourth was Allen Bradley and fifth went to Kevin Faddis who came from the 17th starting spot. The rest of the finishing order was: Bob Harter, Julian Garcia Sr., Regan Tafoya, Robbie Chiles, Wayne Soares, Dave Davis 14 laps, Nick Nelson 12 laps-crash, Goodenough 6 laps-crash, Higgins 6 laps-crash, Aaron Spangler 6 laps-crash, Julian Garcia,Jr. 6 laps-crash, Brody Spangler-DQ.
A big thank you goes out to RIMCO of Farmington for giving away, by way of their sponsored car and driver #24-Regan Tafoya, several nice prizes and one grand prize. Regan tossed tennis balls with 1 through 17 on them. If your number matched where he finished, you won a $450 bar-b-q grill.

The IMCA sport modified 25 lap feature had 19 cars taking the green flag. Billy Currier took the lead on lap 1 and held on through a few cautions until lap 19. Ace Eavenson then put his #44 in front until he spun in front of the pack out of turn 4. Everyone missed him but Ace had to restart in the back. Currier once again was the leader until lap 20 when young Jordan Eddleman put his #11x past the Currier car and held off Joey Klemish for his first win at Aztec this year. Klemish did get 2nd with his Mopar #22 and Billy Currier was 3rd for his best finish this year. Ryan Henley came from nowhere land on the last lap to take 4th with Dakota Kibel in 5th. The rest of the finishing order: Brandon Tenski, Julie Boettler, Bobby Rivas, Juanita Faddis, Brian Carey, Ace Eavenson, RL Henley ran 2nd and 3rd for much of the race before a spin put him out of contention with a 12th place finish. In 13th was Don Wayborn, Rodger Cordary, Ross Whipple, David Lewis, Kakota Mcadam, Kristi Cochran and tom Plant.

The USRA hobby stocks ran 20 laps with Amador Milliano leading every lap for his 2nd win in a row at Aztec. Dennis Spencer ran 2nd all the way with Darrell Cordary in 3rd. Paul Dorsett was 4th and Jim Griffin 5th. Kris Faddis was next followed by Randy Dorsett. Clint Profitt was a DNS.

Breanna “Breeeeeeeeeeeeezie” Hopper won the mini stock race with Tom Dutton running his first race this year and picking up a 2nd.

The hobby stock “powder puff” race didn’t have many takers as only two young ladies competed. Allisha Jones won with our assistant flag person, Destiny, taking 2nd.

We’ll do it all again next Saturday Aztec Speedway. Gates open at 4 with racing at 7pm.

Comments are closed.