Winners July 3, 2011

By Lynn Hensley

Twenty two year old Garrett Albertson decided at the last minute to bring his late model to Aztec Speedway and run with the CLMA. He and David Deetz worked on their cars in Las Cruces till 4am, had a nap, and hit the road for Aztec. Turned out to be a good idea. When the green flag waved on the 30 lap feature, Garrett Higgins put his car in front of 17 other cars until lap seven when Jeep Berry put his car up Higgin’s tailpipe and turned him in front of the world out of turn four. After the dust settled, eight cars sat crunched together. Two cars that finished in the top five last night were out tonight with heavy damage. Dave Garmann of Milliken, Co. and Jason Davis of Grand Junction, Co. were done. The others managed to repair and return to the track. Jeep Berry was placed in the very back for the restart. After an attempt at a restart and the loss of another car…restart #3 took place. Jeff Davis of Aztec took the lead for 10 laps and then along came Albertson. He took the #43 to the high side of Davis and never looked back, even with a late caution. Nobody was going to catch the red, white and blue #43 on this Independence weekend. Quite fitting as it turns out. The colors and the number..(Richard Petty had a birthday this weekend). Albertson later stated that he did not expect to win. But he did and it was well earned. Jeff Davis did hold on to 2nd as Cooter Frazier of Albuquerque took 3rd in a nice run for him. Fourth went to John Kuchar of Denver, Co. and fifth was Jeep Berry of Grand Junction, Co. Rounding out the top ten were: Curt Daniels of Paonia, Co., Scott Lewis of Henderson, Co., Garrett Higgins of Aztec, David Deetz of Las Cruces and Larry Jackson of Brighton, Co.

Photos below.

CLMA Winners

1st: Garrett Albertson
2nd: Jeff Davis
3rd: Cooter Frazier
4th: John Kuchar
5th: Jeep Berry

In the NMMRA sprint car 25 lapper, Jessie Baker started front row outside and jumped to the lead going into turn one. The pole sitter was his dad, Bo Baker. Jessie was driving Chuck Jackson’s #99 as his car had lost a motor last night. Ironically, Jackson had flipped the #99 last night but that didn’t bother Jessie as he piloted the #99 to the checkers for a wire to wire win. Bo Baker was 2nd with Bill Mitchell 3rd and Ronnie Smith 4th followed by Jason Tanner in 5th. Jordan Mattson flipped his #24 out of turn two with only two laps to go. Mattson was ok. The rest of the top ten were: Steve Nix, Butch Box Jon Taylor, Grant Garagnon and Chuck Jackson. Twenty cars took the green this evening.

NMMRA Winners

1st: Jess Baker
2nd: Bo Baker
3rd: Bill Mitchell
4th: Ronnie Smith
5th: Jason Tanner

The IMCA modifieds supplied only 14 cars for their 25 lap feature but still managed to put on a great race. After a lot of 3 and 4 wide racing, Aaron Spangler took the lead from Regan Tafoya and sailed to another IMCA feature win. Porter Smith was close for several laps and held in for a 2nd. In 3rd was Danny Bradford, 4th went to Kevin Faddis followed by Mark Rodgers for fifth. Jason Keeler was the only car that went out after an early atltercation with the turn one wall. Finishing 6 through 10th was: Regan Tafoya, JJ Harpole, Charlie Felker, Tom Cadle and Bob Harter.

IMCA Modifieds Winners

1st: Aaron Spangler
2nd: Porter Smith
3rd: Danny Bradford
4th: Kevin Faddis
5th: Mark Rodgers

In the IMCA sport modifieds 25 lap feature, they too only provided 14 cars. The racing was tight and rough. In the end Dakota Kibel took the win with Julie Boettler in 2nd. Finishing 3rd was Brian Carey and fourth was Ryan Henley followed by Joey Klemish in fifth. The rest of the top 10 were: Brandon Tenski, Juanita Faddis, RL Henley, Shane Simonton and Wayne Soares.

IMCA Sport Modifieds Winners

1st: Dakota Kibel
2rd: Julie Boettler
3th: Brian Carey
4th: Ryan Henley
5th: Joey Klemish

The hobby feature provided the fifth rollover of the weekend. As the cars were all bunched together coming through turns 3&4, Darrell Cordary turned sideways in front of most of the field. The wheels dug in and the car seemed to jump straight up about 15 feet in the air. It landed hard and rolled one complete time. Luckily Darrell Cordary was not injured but the car appears to be a total loss. Once the race resumed, Rodger Nixon took the lead and held off a challenge from Dennis Spencer to win this feature. Taking 3rd behind Spencer was Amador Milliano. Fourth and fifth were Jeremy Bradley and Howard Asbe.

Hobbys Winners

1st: Rodger Nixon
2nd: Dennis Spencer
3rd: Amador Milliano
4th: Jeremy Bradley
5th: Howard Asbe

And that ends a “Red, White and Zoooom” weekend at Aztec Speedway. The NMMRA sprints will return in three weeks and the CLMA will be back in September.

Comments are closed.