Winners July 2, 2011

By Lynn Hensley

In the first of two nights of racing at Aztec Speedway and before a large crowd, Jeep Berry took the win in the CLMA feature. At first it looked as if Berry would run away with this late model win but a few drivers had other ideas. Berry took off from the pole and led a couple, but along came Dave Garmann to take the lead for a few. Berry moved back to the front for several laps until John Kuchar blew by on the outside coming out of turn four. But as he did so, the yellow came out reverting the field and placing Berry back in front. Berry realized the fast way around the track was on the high side and that’s where he ran for the rest of the 25 laps. Garmann was always close but had to settle for 2nd. Jason Davis moved his car out of nowhere to take 3rd. In fourth was John Kuchar and 5th Scott Cimfl. Rounding out the top 10 were: Curt Daniels, Jeff Davis, Scott Lewis, Dan Shepherd, Mark Herrera and Larry Jackson. A short field of late models was attributed to another track deciding to run a two day show also.

Photos below.

CLMA Winners

1st: Jeep Berry
2nd: Dave Garmann
3rd: Jason Davis
4th: John Kuchar
5th: Scott Cimfl

In the other featured event…the NMMRA brought 25 cars to Aztec for the weekend and put on some exciting racing. The night started off with a bang as Chuck Jackson did a couple of end-overs going into turn 3 in his heat race. Chuck was ok and he and his crew scrambled to replace the front end and several other components on the car. Chuck Jackson and his car took the call for the 25 lap feature….all 25 cars took the green. Tim West was on the pole but didn’t make it through turn one. West slipped up high and came together with another car causing him to flip wildly about 3 times. Also tipping over was Dave Burns in his new car. West was ok but his car was done for the night. Burns continued in the race. On the restart, Jon Taylor took the lead but didn’t hold it long as Jason Tanner and Jordan Mattson moved up to each lead several laps. Mattson ended up in the pits with mechanical woes and Tanner was headed to a win until Ronnie Smith came up through the pack and sailed by Tanner for the lead. With two laps to go, Smith’s right rear tire blew and ended his night. Tanner went on to win with Butch Box taking 2nd. In 3rd was Jason Grady followed by Steve Nix and Bill Mitchell. Sixth through 10th was Nick Rael, Bo Baker, Josh Grady, Jon Taylor and Kristi Smith.

NMMRA Winners

1st: Jason Tanner
2nd: Butch Box
3rd: Jason Grady
4th: Steve Nix
5th: Bill Mitchell
In the IMCA stock car feature, Rex Higgins did his usual good job and methodically moved up to take yet another win at Aztec. The last car he passed for the lead was Steffan Carey. Carey soon after had a problem that brought out a yellow and sending him to the back of the field. Tony Hill put the pressure on Higgins in the final laps but just could not move his familiar #007 to the front. In the end, Hill had his hands full in taking 2nd over Kenny Hendershot and only by inches. In fourth was Allen Bradley and fifth went to Michael Higgins. Sixth through tenth was Frankie Hendershot, Shane Devilbiss, Arlen Cochran, Michael Farley and Darin James.

IMCA Stock Winners

1st: Rex Higgins
2nd: Tony Hill
3rd: Kenny Hendershot
4th: Allen Bradley
5th: Michael Higgins

In the IMCA sport modified feature, Brian Carey, in his first season of racing, took the 25 lap feature by holding of Zach Hamilton for the last five laps. In third behind Hamilton was Dakota Kibel. Fourth was Shane Simonton and fifth Jordan Eddleman. Rounding out the top ten were: Ace Eavenson, Julie Boettler, Brandon Tenski, RL Henley and Juanita Faddis.

IMCA Sport Mods

1st: Brian Carey
2nd: Zach Hamilton
3rd: Dakota Kibel
4th: Shane Simonton
5th: Jordan Eddleman

The mini stocks had a good three car chase for the lead with Breezy Hooper taking the win followed by Amanda Hamilton and Ross Whipple.

Mini Stock Winners

1st: Breezy Hopper
2nd: Amanda Hamilton
3rd: Ross Whipple

The IMCA modifieds had the night off but will return tomorrow for the conclusion of our Independence Red, White and Zoom weekend. The green will fall at 6pm.

Comments are closed.