Danny Bradford takes the IMCA modified feature at Aztec

Aztec, New Mexico: What a difference a week makes! No big wind and warm compared to last week’s deep freeze. And what a night for Danny Bradford in his #111. Bradford led the last seven laps of the 25 lap IMCA modified feature and registered his first win in some time at Aztec. Matthew Higgins looked like he was going to take an easy win after leading the first 15 laps. But a yellow for a spin bunched everyone up and Regan Tafoya jumped into the lead on the restart followed by Bradford. Tafoya managed only a couple of laps in front before Bradford made the final pass. The margin of victory was .704 seconds over Tafoya. In 3rd was Aaron Spangler of Dove Creek, Co. Fourth went to Matthew Higgins and Porter Smith rounded out the top five. Higgins actually held off challenges from four different drivers but the lap 15 restart relegated him to fourth. Defending National IMCA modified champion, Zane Devilbiss, was running 6th most of the race but spun on the last lap to end up 12th. These drivers and about 45 more will be on hand next weekend for the two night Wild West Tour’s first action of the 2011 season.

The IMCA sport modified 25 lapper saw 19 cars take the green. Wayne Soares in his #26 sporty took the lead from the pole and led every lap for his first win this year. Zach Hamilton was closing fast but ran out of laps and settled for 2nd. Zach Rouse has three wins this year but had to settle for 3rd in this one. Fourth went to Brandon Tenski and fifth to Randy Eitel. The race saw a couple of cautions early with one being thrown for a five car pile up.

The IMCA stock cars fielded 18 cars. The 19th car of Stephen Carey was a DNS due to a broken camshaft. As usual, the stock car drivers put on a great race with three and four wide racing. Samuel Sansoni led for the first couple of laps, then Arlen Cochran showed some strength and led six laps. On lap 8, Shane (that’s Shane) Devilbiss put his #43 out front by running the extreme high side of the track. He led until lap 19 when a challenge from Danny Stevenson out of turn 2 ended with both cars in the wall. Shane was out as Stevenson continued at the back of the pack. Rex Higgins was on the move in 3rd when the crash occured. Rex graciously accepted the lead and the checkers six laps later. That’s two in a row for the #47 of Higgins.

The mini stocks came out for a fifteen lap feature that saw a first time winner. Breezy Hopper took her #37 mustang to the front and led all 15 laps to notch that first feature win. Defending champ, Amanda Hamilton, took 2nd with Ross Whipple 3rd followed by William Mallard and Jeannie Henley.

The hobby race was taken down by Dennis Spencer with Jeremy Bradley running a very good 2nd and leading a few laps. In 3rd was Roger Nixon with Darrell Cordary 4th and Randy Dorsett 5th.

View all Winners. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.